Brown County Planning Commission

The Brown County Planning Commission was established July 10, 1962 by the Brown County Board of Commissioners.  Members of the Planning Commission Board are appointed to three-year terms by the County Commissioners.  Board members are volunteer citizen planners dedicated to a shared vision for sustainable development in Brown County.  The Planning Commission Board consists of eleven members, eight appointed citizens who serve without pay and three County Commissioners.

The Planning Commission, In accordance with the provisions of the State of Ohio, is charged with maintaining a comprehensive and continuous planning program within the unincorporated areas of the county in a manner that will promote public health, safety and the general welfare ofthe citizens of Brown County.  The Planning Commission serves in an advisory capacity to the County Commissioners by making recommendations concerning land use and land development.

Subdivision Regulations

The Brown County Subdivision Regulations were adopted March 2003 (amended in 2007) to promote the proper arrangement and coordination of streets to other roads; adequate and convenient provision of open spaces, utilities and recreation; and to provide for water, drainage, sewer and other sanitary facilities.  The Technical Review Committee consisting of representatives of the County Engineer’s Office, County Health Department, the Planning Commission and the Soil and Water Conservation District meet each week to review surveys and plats for compliance to the these regulations.

Planning Commission Meetings

Meetings are the third Tuesday of each month, 8:00 a.m. in the Board of Commissioners’ Office, County Administration Building, 800 Mt. Orab Pike, Georgetown, Ohio.